Save Them All

April 18, 2011 § Leave a comment

After I go out and shoot I’m always eager to come home and upload my photos to see what I’ve done. I run Bridge for my metadata and photoshop. I immediately run a slide show so that I can color code my photographs into 1st, 2nd, and 3rd (my ranking of priority and favorites). I usually jump right into editing. It is amazing how instantly gratifying photography is now.

My point however is not about workflow. My point is, if you come home and immediately edit, you may miss something special in your first pass. Even your second pass. Your perspective is constantly changing and with it your aesthetics. You never know what you may find beautiful or moving later so DON’T DELETE your work. Period. Buy an external drive, burn your work to DVD, but DON’T DELETE.

I was rummaging through older works and pulled some photos that I’m glad upon review I did not delete. Here are a couple:

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Save Them All at Diana K. Garrett Photography.

meta

