The Faces of Occupy Wall Street – Dreya John

October 10, 2011 § Leave a comment

“I’m 60 years old. I lost my job [in mortgage lending] during the economic crisis. Back in 2008 essentially they just shut us all down. Real estate hasn’t recovered and won’t recover for years. Now we’re looking for other kinds of jobs. Though, I do have a job now so I can’t complain. I’m grateful to have a job at all because there are many people who do not…though I’m earning half of what I was earning before. I think the occupy wall street movement is a group of people who are all interested in equity. Whether it’s dealing with taxes, dealing with funds for education, dealing with jobs. It’s all about equity. It shouldn’t be the 1% holding all the wealth. Wall street is the symbolic financial center of our country and that’s the best place to start. I think it’s excellent to see the every day citizen in the United States getting out on the road saying let’s do something. We’re sick and tired of it. I think the movement will grow. I think it will have a positive effect. I think the louder we get, the more coverage [in the media] we will eventually get. It’s just a matter of time.”

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Faces of Occupy Wall Street – Dreya John at Diana K. Garrett Photography.

meta

