The Faces of Occupy Wall Street – Adan Falcon

October 15, 2011 § Leave a comment

“I’m 23. Right now everyone in my family is pretty much struggling at this point. My dad has been unemployed for two or three years. He finally got a job but it’s barely enough for the place they are living at. My sister has to help him out. She’s currently living with him. My mom lost her home, like, a year ago because of a bad loan she had gotten. So she’s just staying with her mother right now.
As for me, I’m pretty much up here [in San Francisco] with little to no help from my mom and dad because of them trying to recoup themselves. Right now I finally got myself a room and am currently pursuing my studies.
I’m studying creative writing and international relations [at San Francisco State]. International relations really taught me to take a more critical view of what’s really going on right now with everything. During the process of being in [this economic crisis] it made me more angry now of what’s happening here but also more on a global scale. How it’s ruining several countries trying to model themselves after the U.S. It’s not working. There’s still a huge gap between the populations. It’s getting worse and worse here and then other countries are supposed to model themselves after the U.S….that’s the same effect their going to be getting as well.
The occupy movement has sprung off of this really positive attitude. How people have been viewing movements against corporations, against big businesses; I think people are realizing more and more, especially with the information starting to spread, that there’s this huge inequality gap. Also that you can’t believe that government assistance towards corporations is helping us. [The money given to corporations] is not getting into the hands of the working class.
What I’m hoping will be done with this movement is more inclusion of different voices. In the beginning I remember there was a lot of criticism in the movement [in New York] because it was mainly middle class white people going there. There were no people of color having their voices over there. But now I’m starting to see more inclusion. Again, there’s no one population being affected by this but several. I think as many voices as possible that can speak up with this movement is important so that many human rights can be addressed.
[If I could change things in this country right now] I think it would be more fair taxes for everybody and also more emphasis toward distributing money towards education. More unions to be able to participate in the government. I think one of the biggest issues now is the fact that [unions] have been cut down so much. A more equal democratic system. As much as I would like to believe us as individuals who go to the ballots have a voice, I think there’s still a huge limit in voices in terms of people trying to bring out policy changes that would not create some form of exclusion.”

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Faces of Occupy Wall Street – Adan Falcon at Diana K. Garrett Photography.

meta

