The Faces of Occupy Wall Street – Supervisor John Avalos

October 27, 2011 § Leave a comment

“I came to prevent what happened in Oakland from happening in San Francisco. I want to be here to support the Occupy Protest and I believe in why they are protesting here. I believe in their constitutional right to free speech and assembly. I think that constitutional right trumps any law we write here at the local level that says they can stay in our parks or not.
What [the occupy protestors] are talking about is bigger than our parks. It’s about our economic system that supports the few over the many and the few are getting richer. The many are getting less and less wealth in their hands to be able to provide for their families; provide for their elders; to have education that is adequate to help people advance. No healthcare, no housing and I believe those are the conditions we need to change. I support the protest that is calling for those things.”

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Faces of Occupy Wall Street – Supervisor John Avalos at Diana K. Garrett Photography.

meta